Empty Fridge – Sick Day Soup

…aka Seafood Lemon Pasta Soup (things just a whole lot fancier ’round here).

Today I woke up sick(er) AND with the painful realization that I have a wisdom tooth coming in! Oh ho, what fun.  And I was hungry for soup. Unfortunately, I have yet to go grocery shopping, having just recently arrived back from spring break. I did have a few things leftover in my fridge and pantry, so I scrounged up this humble noodle soup to tide me over till dinner…and then I don’t really know what I’m doing. Living in the moment, that’s what college is about.

I had chicken stock and yellow onions and linguini pasta. Boooring. But in the soup it went…and then some leftover frozen calamari and shrimp from Trader Joe’s (I was feeling fancy two weeks ago). A little less boring. The seafood reminded me that I always have lemon around, so I squeezed a goodly amount until the broth turned sort of milky. Then a little garlic salt, crushed peppercorns, a little thyme, et voila! Soup. Yum.

*P.S. forgive the awful quality of the photo. Camera batteries are charging so I webcammed it.

Leave a Reply

